Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

 

1-What is a monkeypox?

Monkeypox is a disease caused by the monkeypox virus. It is a viral zoonotic disease, meaning that it can spread from animals to humans. It can also spread between people.

2- Where is a monkeypox typically found?

Monkeypox is commonly found in Central and West Africa where there are tropical rainforests and where animals that may carry the virus typically live. People with monkeypox are occasionally identified in other countries outside of Central and West Africa, following travel from regions where monkeypox is endemic.

3- What are the symptoms of monkeypox?

Symptoms of monkeypox typically include a fever, intense headache, muscle aches, back pain, low energy, swollen lymph nodes and a skin rash or lesions. The rash usually begins within one to three days of the start of a fever. Lesions can be flat or slightly raised, filled with clear or yellowish fluid, and can then crust, dry up and fall off. The number of lesions on one person can range from a few to several thousand. The rash tends to be concentrated on the face, palms of the hands and soles of the feet. They can also be found on the mouth, genitals, and eyes.

Symptoms typically last between two to four weeks and go away on their own without treatment. If you think you have symptoms that could be monkeypox, seek advice from your health care provider. Let them know if you have had close contact with someone who has suspected or confirmed monkeypox.

4- Can people die from monkeypox?

In most cases, the symptoms of monkeypox go away on their own within a few weeks, but in some individuals, they can lead to medical complications and even death. Newborns, children and people with underlying immune deficiencies may be at risk of more serious symptoms and death from monkeypox.

Complications from severe cases of monkeypox include skin infections, pneumonia, confusion, and eye infections which can lead to loss of vision. Around 3 - 6% of reported cases have led to death in endemic countries in recent times, often in children or persons who may have other health conditions.  It is important to note that this may be an overestimate because surveillance in endemic countries is limited.

5- How does monkeypox spread from animals to humans?

Monkeypox can spread to people when they come into physical contact with an infected animal. Animal hosts include rodents and primates. The risk of catching monkeypox from animals can be reduced by avoiding unprotected contact with wild animals, especially those that are sick or dead (including their meat and blood). In endemic countries where animals carry monkeypox, any foods containing animal meat or parts should be cooked thoroughly before eating.

6- How does monkeypox spread from person to person?

People with monkeypox are infectious while they have symptoms (normally for between two and four weeks). You can catch monkeypox through close physical contact with someone who has symptoms. The rash, bodily fluids (such as fluid, pus or blood from skin lesions) and scabs are particularly infectious. Clothing, bedding, towels or objects like eating utensils/dishes that have been contaminated with the virus from contact with an infected person can also infect others.

Ulcers, lesions or sores in the mouth can also be infectious, meaning the virus can spread through saliva. People who closely interact with someone who is infectious, including health workers, household members and sexual partners are therefore at greater risk for infection.

The virus can also spread from someone who is pregnant to the foetus from the placenta, or from an infected parent to child during or after birth through skin-to-skin contact.

It is not clear whether people who do not have symptoms can spread the disease.

7- How can I protect my self and others against monkeypox?

You can reduce your risk by limiting contact with people who have suspected or confirmed monkeypox. 

If you do need to have physical contact with someone who has monkeypox because you are a health worker or live together, encourage the infected person to self-isolate and cover any skin lesion if they can (e.g., by wearing clothing over the rash). When you are physically close to them, they should wear a medical mask, especially if they are coughing or have lesions in their mouth. You should wear one also. Avoid skin-to-skin contact whenever possible and use disposable gloves if you have any direct contact with lesions. Wear a mask when handling any clothes or bedding if the person cannot do it themselves.

Regularly clean your hands with soap and water or an alcohol-based hand rub, especially after contact with the person who is infected, their clothes, bed sheets, towels and other items or surfaces they have touched or that might have come into contact with their rash or respiratory secretions (e.g., utensils, dishes).  Wash the person’s clothes, towels and bedsheets and eating utensils with warm water and detergent.  Clean and disinfect any contaminated surfaces and dispose of contaminated waste (e.g., dressings) appropriately.

8- Can children get monkeypox?

Children are typically more prone to have severe symptoms than adolescents and adults. The virus can also be passed to a foetus or to a new born through birth or early physical contact.

9- What should I do if I Think I may have monkeypox?

If you think you have symptoms or have been a close contact of someone with monkeypox, contact your health worker for advice, testing and medical care. If possible, self-isolate and avoid close contact with others. Clean hands regularly and take the steps listed above to protect others from infection.

10- Is there a vaccine against monkeypox?

There are several vaccines available for prevention of smallpox that also provide some protection against monkeypox. A newer vaccine that was developed for smallpox (MVA-BN – also known as Imvamune, Imvanex or Jynneos) was approved in 2019 for use in preventing monkeypox and is not yet widely available. WHO is working with the manufacturer to improve access. People who have been vaccinated against smallpox in the past will also have some protection against monkeypox. The original smallpox vaccines are no longer available to the general public, and people below the age of 40 – 50 years are unlikely to have been vaccinated, since vaccination against smallpox ended in 1980 after it became the first disease to be eradicated. Some laboratory personnel or health workers may have been vaccinated with a more recent smallpox vaccine.

11- Is there a treatment for monkeypox?

Monkeypox symptoms often resolve on their own without the need for treatment. It is important to take care of the rash by letting it dry if possible or covering with a moist dressing to protect the area if needed. Avoid touching any sores in the mouth or eyes. Mouth rinses and eye drops can be used as long as cortisone-containing products are avoided. Vaccinia immune globulin (VIG) may be recommended for severe cases. An antiviral that was developed to treat smallpox (tecovirimat, commercialized as TPOXX) was also approved for the treatment of monkeypox in January 2022.

12- Where in the world is there currently a risk of monkeypox?

Since 1970, human cases of monkeypox have been reported in 11 African countries – Benin, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Côte d’Ivoire, Liberia, Nigeria, the Republic of the Congo, Sierra Leone, and South Sudan.

Cases occur occasionally in non-endemic countries. These are typically reported in persons who have travelled to endemic countries. One outbreak was caused by contact with animals who had been infected by other imported small mammals.

In May 2022, multiple cases of monkeypox are being identified in several non-endemic countries. This is not typical of past patterns of monkeypox. WHO is working with all affected countries to enhance surveillance and provide guidance on how to stop the spread and how to care for those infected.

13- What do you know about the outbreak of monkeypox identified in several countries in May 2022?

Several countries where monkeypox is not endemic have reported cases in May 2022. As of 19 May 2022, cases are being reported from over 10 countries in non-endemic areas. Additional cases are being investigated.

With the exception of cases sporadically reported in travellers from endemic countries, cases in non- endemic areas that are not linked to travel from endemic countries are not typical. At the present time (as of May 2022) there is no clear link between the cases reported and travel from endemic countries and no link with infected animals.

We understand that this outbreak is concerning for many, especially people whose loved ones have been affected. What is most important right now is that we raise awareness about monkeypox among people who are most at risk of infection and provide advice on how to limit further spread between people. It is also important that public health workers are able to identify and care for patients. It is essential that no one stigmatize anyone who is affected by this event. WHO is working to support Member States with surveillance, preparedness and outbreak response activities for monkeypox in affected countries.  

Studies are underway in affected countries to determine the source of infection of each identified case, and actions to provide medical care and limit further spread. 

14- Is there a risk of this coming a larger outbreak?

Monkeypox is not typically considered to be very contagious because it requires close physical contact with someone who is infectious (e.g., skin to skin) to spread between people. The risk to the general public is low.  WHO is responding to this outbreak as a high priority to avoid further spread; for many years has considered monkeypox a priority pathogen. The cases we are currently seeing are not typical for outbreaks of monkeypox because there is no reported travel from endemic countries or to animals exported from endemic countries. Identifying how the virus is spreading and protecting more people from becoming infected is a priority for WHO. Raising awareness about this new situation will help to stop further transmission.

  

15- Why is this disease called “monkeypox”?

The disease is called monkeypox because it was first identified in colonies of monkeys kept for research in 1958. It was only later detected in humans in 1970.

For awareness materials  …Click Here 

How was your Experience?

Hold and swipe to the face that best represents your level of happiness
Neutral

Thank you for your feedback"

We could not receive this, Please try again later

X
Cookies help us improve your website experience. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Confirm

الأسئلة الأكثر شيوعاً عن مرض جدري القردة

1- ما هو مرض جدري القردة؟

جدرى القرود هو مرض يسببه فيروس جدري القرود. إنه مرض فيروسي حيواني المصدر، مما يعني أنه يمكن أن ينتقل من الحيوانات إلى البشر. يمكن أن ينتشر أيضًا بين الناس.

 

2- أين يوجد جدري القرود عادة؟

يوجد جدري القرود بشكل شائع في وسط وغرب إفريقيا حيث توجد غابات استوائية ماطرة وحيث تعيش عادة الحيوانات التي قد تحمل الفيروس. يتم تحديد الأشخاص المصابين بجدري القرود أحيانًا في بلدان أخرى خارج وسط وغرب إفريقيا.

 

3- ما هي أعراض مرض جدري القردة؟.

تشمل أعراض جدري القرود عادة الحمى والصداع الشديد وآلام العضلات وآلام الظهر وتضخم الغدد الليمفاوية والطفح الجلدي أو الآفات. يبدأ الطفح الجلدي عادة في غضون يوم إلى ثلاثة أيام من بداية الحمى. يمكن أن تكون الآفات مسطحة أو مرتفعة قليلاً، مليئة بسائل صافٍ أو مصفر، ثم يمكن أن تتقشر وتجف وتتساقط. يمكن أن يتراوح عدد الآفات على شخص واحد من بضعة إلى عدة آلاف. يميل الطفح الجلدي إلى التركيز على الوجه وراحتَي اليدين وباطن القدمين. يمكن أن توجد أيضًا في الفم والأعضاء التناسلية والعينين.

تستمر الأعراض عادةً ما بين أسبوعين إلى أربعة أسابيع وتختفي من تلقاء نفسها دون علاج. إذا كنت تعتقد أن لديك أعراض قد تكون جدرى القرود، فاطلب المشورة من مقدم الرعاية الصحية الخاص بك. أخبرهم إذا كنت على اتصال وثيق بشخص اشتبه في وجود جدري القرود أو أكده.

 

4- هل يمكن أن يموت الناس من جدرى القرود؟

في معظم الحالات، تختفي أعراض جدري القرود من تلقاء نفسها في غضون أسابيع قليلة، ولكن في بعض الأفراد، يمكن أن تؤدي إلى مضاعفات طبية وحتى الموت. قد يتعرض الأطفال حديثو الولادة والأطفال والأشخاص المصابون بنقص المناعة الكامن لخطر الإصابة بأعراض أكثر خطورة والموت بسبب جدرى القرود.

تشمل المضاعفات الناتجة عن الحالات الشديدة لجدري القرود الالتهابات الجلدية والالتهاب الرئوي والارتباك والتهابات العين التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى فقدان البصر. حوالي 3 - 6٪ من الحالات المبلغ عنها أدت إلى الوفاة في البلدان الموبوءة في الآونة الأخيرة، غالبًا في الأطفال أو الأشخاص الذين قد يعانون من حالات صحية أخرى. من المهم أن نلاحظ أن هذا قد يكون مبالغا فيه لأن المراقبة في البلدان الموبوءة محدودة.

 

5- كيف ينتقل جدرى القرود من الحيوانات الى البشر؟

يمكن أن ينتشر جدري القرود إلى الأشخاص عندما يتلامسون جسديًا مع حيوان مصاب. تشمل مضيفات الحيوانات القوارض والقرود. يمكن الحد من خطر الإصابة بجدر القرود من الحيوانات عن طريق تجنب الاتصال غير المحمي بالحيوانات البرية، خاصة تلك المريضة أو الميتة (بما في ذلك اللحوم والدم كما يجب طهي أي أطعمة تحتوي على لحوم أو أجزاء حيوانية جيدًا قبل تناولها.

 

6- كيف ينتقل جدرى القرود من شخص لآخر؟

الأشخاص المصابون بجدري القرود معديون بينما تظهر عليهم الأعراض (عادة لمدة تتراوح بين أسبوعين وأربعة أسابيع). يمكنك الإصابة بجدري القرود من خلال الاتصال الجسدي الوثيق مع شخص تظهر عليه الأعراض. الطفح الجلدي وسوائل الجسم (مثل السوائل أو القيح أو الدم من الآفات الجلدية) والقشور معدية بشكل خاص. الملابس أو الفراش أو المناشف أو أشياء مثل أواني الطعام / الأطباق الملوثة بالفيروس من ملامسة شخص مصاب يمكن أن تصيب الآخرين أيضًا.

يمكن أيضًا أن تكون القرحة أو الآفات أو القروح في الفم معدية، مما يعني أن الفيروس يمكن أن ينتشر عن طريق اللعاب. الأشخاص الذين يتعاملون عن كثب مع شخص مُعدٍ، بما في ذلك العاملين الصحيين وأفراد الأسرة والأزواج، يكونون أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالعدوى.

يمكن للفيروس أيضًا أن ينتشر من امرأة حامل إلى الجنين من المشيمة، أو من والد مصاب إلى طفل أثناء الولادة أو بعدها عن طريق ملامسة الجلد للجلد.

ليس من الواضح ما إذا كان الأشخاص الذين لا تظهر عليهم أعراض يمكن أن ينشروا المرض.

 

7- كيف يمكنني حماية نفسي والآخرين من جدرى القرود؟

يمكنك تقليل المخاطر عن طريق الحد من الاتصال بالأشخاص الذين اشتبهوا أو أكدوا وجود جدري القرود.

إذا كنت بحاجة إلى الاتصال الجسدي بشخص مصاب بجدري القرود لأنك عامل صحي أو تعيش معًا، شجع الشخص المصاب على عزل نفسه وتغطية أي آفة جلدية إذا كان ذلك ممكنًا (على سبيل المثال، من خلال ارتداء ملابس فوق الطفح الجلدي). عندما تكون قريبًا منهم فعليًا، يجب أن يرتدوا قناعًا طبيًا، خاصةً إذا كانوا يسعلون أو لديهم آفات في أفواههم. يجب عليك ارتداء واحدة أيضا. تجنب ملامسة الجلد للجلد قدر الإمكان واستخدم القفازات التي تستخدم لمرة واحدة إذا كان لديك أي اتصال مباشر مع الآفات. ارتدِ قناعًا عند التعامل مع أي ملابس أو فراش إذا كان الشخص لا يستطيع فعل ذلك بنفسه.

نظف يديك بانتظام بالماء والصابون أو بمطهر كحولي لليدين، خاصة بعد ملامسة الشخص المصاب وملابسه وملاءات السرير والمناشف والأشياء أو الأسطح الأخرى التي لامسوها أو التي قد لامستهم. طفح جلدي أو إفرازات تنفسية (مثل الأواني والأطباق). اغسل ملابس الشخص ومناشفه وأغطية الأسرة وأدوات الأكل بالماء الدافئ والمنظفات. نظف وعقم أي أسطح ملوثة وتخلص من النفايات الملوثة (مثل الضمادات) بشكل مناسب.

 

8- هل يمكن أن يصاب الأطفال بجدري القرود؟

عادة ما يكون الأطفال أكثر عرضة للإصابة بأعراض حادة من المراهقين والبالغين. يمكن أيضًا أن ينتقل الفيروس إلى الجنين أو المولود الجديد من خلال الولادة أو الاتصال الجسدي المبكر.

 

9- ماذا علي أن أفعل إذا اعتقدت أنني قد أصبت بجدري القرود؟

إذا كنت تعتقد أن لديك أعراضًا أو كنت على اتصال وثيق بشخص مصاب بجدري القرود، فاتصل بالعاملين الصحي الخاص بك للحصول على المشورة والاختبار والرعاية الطبية. إذا أمكن، اعزل نفسك وتجنب الاتصال الوثيق مع الآخرين. نظف يديك بانتظام واتبع الخطوات المذكورة أعلاه لحماية الآخرين من العدوى.

 

10- هل يوجد لقاح ضد جدرى القرود؟

هناك العديد من اللقاحات المتاحة للوقاية من الجدري والتي توفر أيضًا بعض الحماية ضد جدرى القرود. تمت الموافقة على لقاح جديد تم تطويره للجدري (MVA-BN - المعروف أيضًا باسم Imvamune أو Imvanex أو Jynneos) في عام 2019 لاستخدامه في الوقاية من جدرى القرود ولم يتوفر بعد على نطاق واسع. تعمل منظمة الصحة العالمية مع الشركة المصنعة لتحسين الوصول. الأشخاص الذين تم تطعيمهم ضد الجدري في الماضي سيكون لديهم أيضًا بعض الحماية ضد جدرى القرود. لم تعد لقاحات الجدري الأصلية متاحة لعامة الناس، ومن غير المرجح أن يتم تطعيم الأشخاص الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 40-50 عامًا، حيث انتهى التطعيم ضد الجدري في عام 1980 بعد أن أصبح أول مرض يتم استئصاله. ربما تم تطعيم بعض العاملين في المختبرات أو العاملين الصحيين بلقاح أحدث ضد الجدري

 

11- هل يوجد علاج لجدري القرود؟

غالبًا ما تُشفى أعراض جدري القرود من تلقاء نفسها دون الحاجة إلى العلاج. من المهم العناية بالطفح الجلدي عن طريق تركه يجف إذا أمكن أو تغطيته بضمادة رطبة لحماية المنطقة إذا لزم الأمر. تجنب لمس أي تقرحات في الفم أو العين. يمكن استخدام غسول الفم وقطرات العين طالما يتم تجنب المنتجات المحتوية على الكورتيزون. قد يوصى باستخدام لقاح الجلوبيولين المناعي (VIG) للحالات الشديدة. تمت الموافقة أيضًا على مضاد للفيروسات تم تطويره لعلاج الجدري (tecovirimat ، تجاريًا باسم TPOXX) لعلاج جدرى القرود في يناير 2022.

 

12- في أي مكان في العالم يوجد حاليًا خطر الإصابة بجدري القرود؟

منذ عام 1970، تم الإبلاغ عن حالات إصابة بشرية بجدري القرود في 11 دولة أفريقية - بنين ، الكاميرون ، جمهورية إفريقيا الوسطى ، جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية ، الغابون ، كوت ديفوار ، ليبيريا ، نيجيريا ، جمهورية الكونغو ، سيراليون ، وجنوب السودان.

تحدث الحالات في بعض الأحيان في البلدان غير الموبوءة. يتم الإبلاغ عن هذه عادة في الأشخاص الذين سافروا إلى البلدان الموبوءة. كان سبب تفشي المرض هو ملامسة الحيوانات المصابة بالثدييات الصغيرة المستوردة الأخرى.

في مايو 2022، تم تحديد حالات متعددة من جدري القرود في العديد من البلدان غير الموبوءة. هذا ليس نموذجيًا للأنماط السابقة لجدري القرود. تعمل منظمة الصحة العالمية مع جميع البلدان المتضررة لتعزيز المراقبة وتقديم التوجيه بشأن كيفية وقف الانتشار وكيفية رعاية المصابين.

 

13- ماذا تعرف عن تفشي مرض جدري القرود الذي تم تحديده في عدة دول في مايو 2022؟

أبلغت العديد من البلدان التي لا يتوطن فيها جدر القردة عن حدوث حالات في مايو 2022. واعتبارًا من 19 مايو 2022، تم الإبلاغ عن حالات من أكثر من 10 دول في مناطق غير موبوءة. يجري التحقيق في حالات إضافية.

باستثناء الحالات المبلغ عنها بشكل متقطع في المسافرين من البلدان الموبوءة، فإن الحالات في المناطق غير الموبوءة غير المرتبطة بالسفر من البلدان الموبوءة ليست نموذجية. في الوقت الحالي (اعتبارًا من مايو 2022) لا توجد صلة واضحة بين الحالات المبلغ عنها والسفر من البلدان الموبوءة ولا صلة بالحيوانات المصابة.

نحن نتفهم أن هذا التفشي مقلق للكثيرين، وخاصة الأشخاص الذين تأثر أحباؤهم. الأهم في الوقت الحالي هو أننا نرفع مستوى الوعي حول جدري القردة بين الأشخاص الأكثر تعرضًا لخطر العدوى ونقدم المشورة حول كيفية الحد من انتشار المرض بين الناس. من المهم أيضًا أن يكون العاملون في مجال الصحة العامة قادرين على تحديد المرضى والعناية بهم. من الضروري ألا يوصم أحد أي شخص يتأثر بهذا الحدث. تعمل منظمة الصحة العالمية على دعم الدول الأعضاء من خلال أنشطة المراقبة والتأهب والاستجابة لفاشية جدري القردة في البلدان المتضررة.

الدراسات جارية في البلدان المتضررة لتحديد مصدر العدوى لكل حالة محددة، وإجراءات لتوفير الرعاية الطبية والحد من انتشار المرض.

 

14- هل هناك خطر من حدوث تفشي أكبر؟

لا يُعتبر فيروس جدري القرود عادةً شديد العدوى لأنه يتطلب اتصالًا جسديًا وثيقًا مع شخص مُعدٍ (على سبيل المثال، من الجلد إلى الجلد) للانتشار بين الناس. المخاطر على عامة الناس منخفضة. منظمة الصحة العالمية تستجيب لهذه الفاشية كأولوية عالية لتجنب المزيد من الانتشار؛ لسنوات عديدة، اعتبر جدرى القرود أحد مسببات الأمراض ذات الأولوية. الحالات التي نراها حاليًا ليست نموذجية لتفشي جدرى القردة لأنه لم يتم الإبلاغ عن سفر من البلدان الموبوءة أو إلى الحيوانات المصدرة من البلدان الموبوءة. يعد تحديد كيفية انتشار الفيروس وحماية المزيد من الأشخاص من الإصابة من أولويات منظمة الصحة العالمية. رفع مستوى الوعي حول هذا الوضع الجديد سيساعد على وقف المزيد من انتقال العدوى

 

15- لماذا يسمى هذا المرض "جدرى القرود"؟

يُطلق على المرض اسم جدري القرود لأنه تم التعرف عليه لأول مرة في مستعمرات القرود المحفوظة للبحث في عام 1958. ولم يتم اكتشافه إلا لاحقًا في البشر في عام 1970.

 

للحصول على المواد التوعوية  … اضغط هنا 

ما هو تقييم تجربتك؟

اضغط و حرك الزر لتحدد مستوى رضائك
عادى

شكراً على مشاركتنا رأيك"

لا يتم ارسال الرسالة , من فضلك حاول لاحقا

X
تساعدنا ملفات تعريف الارتباط في تحسين تجربة موقع الويب الخاص بك. باستخدام موقعنا ، أنت توافق على استخدامنا لملفات تعريف الارتباط.
إغلاق