Genetic Testing as Part of Premarital Screening

Informed decision, healthier future

Genetic Testing as Part of Premarital Screening

Informed decision, healthier future


Premarital Testing

Premarital screening is a mandatory requirement for Emirati and resident couples intending to get married. The purpose of the screening is to protect the public’s health by ensuring that potential infections are identified and addressed before marriage. The screening includes appointments with experts and physicians who provide premarital counselling and can address any other immediate health concerns. This measure is implemented to safeguard the health and well-being of individuals and their future offspring.


Premarital Genetic Testing

In 2022, the Department of Health – Abu Dhabi (DoH), announced that an optional genetic screening has been incorporated into its premarital screening programme.

Premarital genetic testing is a process where couples undergo genetic tests to identify if they are carriers of shared genetic mutations that could be passed on to their future children and cause preventable genetic diseases. The comprehensive genetic testing list includes 570 genes that cover 840+ genetic disorders. It is important because it can help couples assess the risk of having children with genetic disorders and support them in making informed decisions about family planning.

Why Consider Premarital Genetic Testing?

Premarital genetic disease testing has limitations in detecting every possible genetic risk or condition and does not ensure a 100% guarantee of having completely healthy offspring. It helps identify potential risks of passing on genetic disorders, allowing couples to make informed decisions and take preventive measures. However, various factors can influence a child's health, and genetic testing is just one aspect to consider in family planning. 

Consulting with healthcare professionals and genetic counsellors is essential for a comprehensive understanding of the potential risks and available options premarital testing decreases congenital anomalies and can help prevent inherited genetic disorders. 

Testing couples before marriage for the most common genetic mutations (570 genes) that correspond to more than 840+ genetic disorders. These diseases include intellectual and/or motor disabilities, deafness, early loss of vision, immunodeficiencies and congenital anomalies.


Through premarital genetic testing, couples are provided with the following services:

  • Revision of medical and family history including genetic diseases
  • Relevant blood tests
  • Comprehensive genetic testing for the most common genetic mutations (570 genes)
  • Arranging for specialist consultation as needed for genetic disorders that could be passed on to the next generation
  • Address couples’ concerns and queries regarding the premarital tests results
  • Providing health education and guidance on a healthy pregnancy and prenatal counselling
X
Cookies help us improve your website experience. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Confirm

الاختبار الجيني ضمن فحوصات ما قبل الزواج

قرار أكثر وعياً

الاختبار الجيني ضمن فحوصات ما قبل الزواج

قرار أكثر وعياً


فحوصات ما قبل الزواج

تعتبر فحوصات ما قبل الزواج إجراءً إلزامياً لجميع المواطنين والمقيمين المقبلين على الزواج، ويهدف للحفاظ على الصحة العامة من خلال ضمان الكشف عن الأمراض المعدية والوراثية والتعامل معها خلال مرحلة ما قبل الزواج. وتشتمل الفحوصات على تحديد مواعيد مع الخبراء والأطباء الذين يحرصون على تقديم مشورة ما قبل الزواج، والإشارة إلى أي تحديات صحية بشكل فوري. تأتي فحوصات ما قبل الزواج بهدف الحفاظ على صحة وسلامة كافة المجتمع وضمان ذرية خالية من الأمراض في المستقبل.



الاختبار الجيني ضمن فحوصات ما قبل الزواج

في عام 2022، أعلنت دائرة الصحة – أبوظبي عن إدراج الاختبار الجيني ضمن فحوصات ما قبل الزواج في الإمارة.

يُعد الاختبار الجيني إجراءً يتيح للمقبلين على الزواج الخضوع لفحوصات جينية لتحديد فيما إذا كانوا يحملون طفرات جينية مشتركة وقد ينقلونها لذريتهم مستقبلاً، وقد تتسبب لأطفالهم بأمراض وراثية يمكن الوقاية منها. وتغطي الفحوصات الجينية الشاملة 570 جيناً لأكثر من 840 حالة طبية. وتعتبر إجراءً في غاية الأهمية كونها تساعد المقبلين على الزواج في تقييم مخاطر إنجابهم لأطفال مصابين بأمراض وراثية، وتدعمهم لاتخاذ قرارات مدروسة واعية عند التخطيط لتأسيس الأسرة.

لماذا يتعين الخضوع للاختبار الجيني ؟

إن الاختبار الجيني ضمن فحوصات ما قبل الزواج لا يمكنه الكشف عن كل المخاطر أو الحالات الجينية المحتملة بنسبة 100%، ولا يضمن إنجاب ذرية سليمة تماماً، إلا أنه يساعد في تحديد المخاطر المحتملة لتوريث أمراض جينية للأبناء، بما يتيح للأزواج اتخاذ قرارات واعية وتبني تدابير وقائية. ونظراً إلى أن هنالك العديد من العوامل التي تؤثر في صحة الطفل، فإن الاختبار الجيني يُعد من بين الإجراءات الواجب مراعاتها عن التخطيط لتأسيس أسرة.

إن استشارة مقدمي الرعاية الصحية وخبراء الأمراض الجينية هي أمر أساسي لتكوين فهم شامل حول المخاطر المحتملة والخيارات المتاحة، حيث تحد فحوصات ما قبل الزواج من تعرض الأبناء للتشوهات الخلقية ويمكن أن تحميهم من الأمراض الوراثية. يُسهم الاختبار الجيني في التحقق من وجود أكثر الطفرات الجينية شيوعاً (570 جين) المسؤولة عن أكثر من 840 حالة طبية. وتشتمل هذه الأمراض على الإعاقات المعرفية و/أو الحركية، والصمم، وفقدان البصر المبكر، ونقص المناعة، والتشوهات الخلقية.


عبر الخضوع للاختبار الجيني ضمن فحوصات ما قبل الزواج، يحصل المقبلون على الزواج على الخدمات التالية:

  • مراجعة التاريخ الطبي والعائلي بما يشمل الامراض الجينية الأكثر شيوعاً.
  • تحاليل الدم الضرورية.
  • فحص جيني شامل لأكثر الطفرات الجينية شيوعاً (570 جين).
  • التنسيق للحصول على استشارات متخصصة حسب الضرورة للأمراض الجينية التي يمكن أن تنتقل من الزوجين للأجيال القادمة.
  • بحث ومناقشة مخاوف الأزواج والإجابة على استفساراتهم المتعلقة بنتائج فحوصات ما قبل الزواج.
  • توفير التثقيف والإرشاد الصحي حول الحمل الصحي واستشارات ما قبل الولادة.
X
تساعدنا ملفات تعريف الارتباط في تحسين تجربة موقع الويب الخاص بك. باستخدام موقعنا ، أنت توافق على استخدامنا لملفات تعريف الارتباط.
إغلاق